Pumpkin Cake

Standard

I’m designating October as Pumpkin Month. I know it’s not October yet, but it’s close enough for me! I saw this amazing looking pumpkin cake on Pinterest and just had to try it out. Now, I’ll admit, I’m a weirdo. I don’t like pumpkin pie, but when it comes to pumpkin cake or bread, I’m all about some! I’ve adapted this recipe from Jessica at The Novice Chef. Let me tell ya – this is good stuff! I took one bite and said, “oh, my, goodness,” and I’m pretty sure my eyes rolled into the back of my head. I am almost tempted not to take it to work tomorrow. But, I will because the good Lord knows I don’t need to eat all of it! P.S. I really need to work on my food styling. Everyone seems to have way better pictures of their food than me!

pc3

Ingredients:

Cake

  • 3 c.  Flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 3/4 c. Butter, softened
  • 2 c. Sugar
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1 tbls. Vanilla
  • 1 (15 oz) can Pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1/4. Vegetable Oil
  • 1 c. Milk

Icing

  • 12 oz. Cream Cheese, softened
  • 3/4 c. Butter, softened
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla
  • 2 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 4 c. Powdered Sugar

Directions:

Cake

  1. Preheat oven to 300°F. Butter, flour, and put a piece of parchment paper in 3, 8-inch round cake pans. Set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a large, stand mixer bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  4. Beat in eggs one at a time.
  5. Stir in vanilla, pumpkin and vegetable oil.
  6. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with the milk. Start with the flour.
  7. Divide batter evenly into prepared pans.
  8. Bake for 35-40 minutes.
  9. Remove pans from oven and let cool on cooling racks for 10 minutes.
  10. Take cake out of pans and cool completely on cooling racks.

Frosting

  1. In a large bowl, cream butter and cream cheese until smooth.
  2. Beat in vanilla and cinnamon.
  3. Add confectioners’ sugar and beat on low speed until combined, then on high until frosting is smooth.

Assembling the Cake

  1. Place a small amount of frosting on the bottom of the cake stand or platter. Place the first layer on top.
  2. Put a thick layer of frosting in between each layer.
  3. Once all layers are assembled, place a layer of frosting around the outside of the cake.
  4. Store in the fridge until ready to serve.

Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. I originally saw this on the novice chef blog. I wanted to make it for this weekend’s Thanksgiving dinner. I thought since I did not have freezer space I would not be able to pull it off. Is there a reason she said freeze and you did not?

    • Star,
      On her blog she notes that by putting it in the freezer it stops the baking and keeps the cake moist. I completely skipped this and let it cool like you would normally cool a cake on wire racks. My cake turned out very moist. The cake didn’t lose it’s integrity by not putting it in the freezer. So, you can skip that step. This is one cake you won’t regret making! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

